ruralblonde

healthy…hit me with your best shot (of wheat grass)?!

Posted on: January 10, 2012

Making a Lifestyle Change…

I’ve always considered myself a relatively “healthy” person…especially in my younger years—active, ate well, blah blah skinny blah.  My nickname in high school was “Bone”.  As I hit college, I think things started to change.  I like to consider the 4 years I spent at Penn State as the time when…ummm…itreatedmybodylikecrap.  It isn’t pretty, but it’s true—late nights, no exercise, poor diet consisting mostly of cheap beer and vodka, general debauchery.  After college hasn’t necessarily been all that much better.  Steady weight gain, continued smoking, and poor diet and no exercise was leading me down a path of sure obesity and all that that entails…and to just face facts, I don’t want to be fat.  I’m not “fat” now, but I’m certainly fluffier than I would EVER have thought I’d be and it MUST change.  Curves are good.  Rolls are bad.

couch potato...NOT ME! (mostly me!) 😦

As part of my “resolutions” or rather, goals, of 2012, I wanted to change my lifestyle.  I’ve been focusing on being more “green” to the environment when possible but more than anything, I want to start treating my body with respect.   Less chemicals, more vegetables is the motto for the year.

I’m making a serious transition to an ovo-lacto vegetarian lifestyle (no meat/seafood, dairy is ok!) and it hasn’t been the easiest.  (SIDE BAR:  This isn’t because I’m some sort of PETA-enthusiast…but more because I don’t like the way our food is filled with chemicals and antibiotics.  AND ALSO, they are really barbaric in factory farm/feed-lot scenarios, and I can’t condone eating something that is treated so poorly.  I wouldn’t allow myself to be treated that way, what gives me the right to subject my food to that treatment?  Check out Skinny Bitch  or some articles online about factory farming/aquaculture.)

poor animals 😦

Not so much craving meat (I’ve never been a fan…and I hate chicken…except their deliciously fried wings), but the lack of convenience.  A vegetarian lifestyle requires TIME—time to prepare meals, time to shop conscientiously, and time to adjust.  So far, I’m doing pretty darn good.  I’ve had a few weak moments where I’ve eaten meat (family parties, absolute starvation, etc.) but this is a lifestyle change, not a diet so I’m ok with the setbacks.  I’m learning to try a lot of new foods and understand that convenience=chemicals.  I want to eat as little processed food as possible (or as available in Podunk hell where the grocer wouldn’t know what organic meant if it bit him in the ass).  I’m working on portion control.  I’m trying to eat colorful and varietal.  All of this will hopefully lead to a healthier weight, lessening my risk of diabetes and heart disease (amongst other problems that are triggered by obesity).  So on the food front, minus my incredibly large appetite, I’m in the process of making a healthy lifestyle change.  GO ME.

ooooooooooeeeeeeeeeuuuuuuuuuuu killer tofu!

On the exercise front though, I’m lacking motivation.  It’s cold out.  I work full-time and am in college full-time so I have little time.  I don’t like to get up early.  I like to go to bed early.  Excuses, excuses, excuses.  The original goal was that the work-out would be done in the morning (just some crunches, stretches, and 30 minutes of cardio on the stationary bike my family has).  NOT TOO CRAZY.  I just haven’t gotten out of bed early enough to do any of it.  Hopefully tomorrow.

just up in the gym just working on my fitness...NOT.

 

Leave a Reply

