ruralblonde

dealing with the holidays…

Posted on: December 26, 2011

When you live in the middle of rural nowhere, you have little option to escape from yourself, let alone your family.  Being that I’ve lived in rural nowhere for most of my life I’ve become accustomed to this lack of escape.  This holiday season was no different.  Being that this was the first holiday season since the death of my father, I didn’t expect any of this to be easy.  It didn’t disappoint.

The highlight though of this holiday season has to be our “Christmas” dinner.  My dad’s favorite restaurant is closing this week, after 15 years of prosperous business (mostly because people like my dad could go gorge themselves on chinese food until they felt sick).  So, Grandma, Mom, and I hopped in the car and trekked the hour south to hit up this delicious chinese buffet treat.  Dinner itself wasn’t that bad…the food was good as it usually is.  BUT…the problem with AYCE (all-you-can-eat) places is that people really do eat all they can…sometimes to the point of sickness.  This little fatmuch, all of maybe 12 decided to eat all he could, plus some, and vomit on the floor next to where we were eating.  Awesome, right?  TO MAKE MATTERS WORSE, the family of the fatmunch did nothing to rectify such a disgusting situation.  The poor employees were left to clean up the mess.  WHAT a freaking disaster.

 

The holidays have been hard… most of the time I feel like I’m walking around ready to breakdown or lash out.  But at least I can say there’s been some comedic relief to the situation.  And if I never set foot in a chinese buffet ever again…it’ll be too soon.

 

Fa rah rah rah rah…  Mery Christmas 🙂

Leave a Reply

